Netiquette

Élection Montréal must respect the confidentiality of any personal information that users may transmit to it. For any question requiring access to your personal file, Élection Montréal invites you to contact the Information Centre directly, at 514-872-VOTE (514-872-8683) or by e-mail. Élection Montréal cannot handle a case or a personal file through social media.

Whether it involves initiating a discussion, asking a question, expressing a point of view or providing constructive criticism, we value your opinion. The Élection Montréal Twitter and Facebook accounts are intended for people of all political persuasions, and the institution encourages exchanges of opinion and open and respectful debate. All observations will be taken into account, except for:

  • Incomprehensible remarks;
  • Slanderous, hateful, racist, homophobic, sexist, xenophobic or generally unacceptable remarks;
  • Hurtful, vulgar or offensive remarks;
  • Unlawful remarks,Remarks that include personal or confidential data;
  • Actual or dissimulated advertising, as well as propaganda; and/or
  • Messages published on numerous occasions, or that are completely off topic.

Exchanges and the sharing of ideas are appreciated and encouraged, but Élection Montréal will not tolerate any attack upon those expressing their ideas. Hence remarks that violate this netiquette policy will be altered or removed. So as to foster respectful discussions, Élection Montréal will remove all offensive remarks without warning. It is important to hold a discussion that benefits all users; private debates involving only a few participants will not be tolerated.

Usurping another person’s identity is a serious offense. Anyone using a false account or multiple identities will be denied access privileges, and officials in charge of the social media concerned will be alerted regarding the individual in question.

Contributors to discussions on the different social accounts used by Élection Montréal must be identified; however, net surfers may consult these accounts anonymously.

It should be recalled that everything published online is indexed by the various search engines and will not necessarily be withdrawn, even upon the author’s request.

A number of city employees, as well as elected members of City Council and borough councils, have accounts with certain social media, such as Twitter and Facebook, and some will identify themselves as such. Notwithstanding their professional affiliation, their messages and stances do not represent the official position of Élection Montréal and must be considered as personal opinions only.

The addition of hyperlinks to other sites is authorized if the content is appropriate and in line with the discussions or subjects addressed. Advertising and inappropriate links will not be tolerated. In no case does Élection Montréal endorse these third-party sites or their content.

If you wish to publish photos or videos on one of our online platforms, please make sure that the files belong to the public domain and that you have the consent of the author and the person(s) appearing in them.

Users violating the rules of netiquette outlined herein may see their input removed without warning and their access privileges to the accounts of Élection Montréal suspended.

Given the rapid pace at which social media are evolving, Élection Montréal reserves the right to change these rules of use at any time and without prior notice. We suggest you consult this page on a regular basis.

Rules pertaining to certain social media

Facebook: www.facebook.com/electionMTL

To learn more about Élection Montréal on Facebook, you can follow the “Élection Montréal” page. Élection Montréal has no control over, is not responsible for, and does not in any way endorse the intuitive advertising automatically generated by Facebook on the sides of the institution’s page, including advertising of a political nature. All those publishing on this page are responsible for their own remarks and actions, and Élection Montréal does not necessarily support or endorse their statements.

Twitter: To learn more about Élection Montréal on Twitter, you can follow the @Election_Mtl account or the #cmmtl, #polmtl and #mun2013 hashtags. Other hashtags may also be used depending on the circumstances if they are relevant.

A subscription to the @Election_Mtl account does not automatically mean that we are subscribed to yours. Our decision to follow a Twitter account does not mean that we support or endorse the remarks or activities found on it. Moreover, our decision to republish another user’s retweet does not imply that Élection Montréal agrees with this user and in no circumstances does it indicate a change in our official position. Followers of our Twitter account follow us of their own free will. We are not responsible for their activities or their remarks. Tweets mentioning @Election_Mtl are not endorsed or supported by Élection Montréal.

Élection Montréal reserves the right to block or remove followers at any time if we deem their actions or remarks inappropriate. Given the 140- character limit imposed by Twitter, we have shortened our hyperlinks with Web applications. Élection Montréal has absolutely no ties with these online services.

Net surfers may alert us to any abuse or violation of netiquette by contacting the customer service department, at 514-872-VOTE (514-872-8683), or by sending us an e-mail. Any other questions or observations concerning social media may also be sent to this address.

For all official correspondence, please use the “Contact us” section of our website. We invite the various media to submit their requests by following the usual procedure, i.e. by calling 514-872-9376. Requests may also be submitted by e-mail.

Nétiquette

Élection Montréal est tenue de respecter la confidentialité des renseignements personnels transmis par les usagers. Pour toute question requérant un accès à votre dossier personnel, Élection Montréal vous invite à entrer directement contact avec le centre de renseignements au 514-872-VOTE (514-872-8683) ou par courriel. Élection Montréal ne peut traiter d’un cas ou d’un dossier personnel par l’entremise des médias sociaux.

Que ce soit pour lancer une discussion, poser une question, émettre un point de vue ou une critique constructive, votre opinion nous intéresse. Les comptes Twitter et Facebook d’Élection Montréal s’adressent aux personnes de toutes orientations politiques. Élection Montréal favorise les échanges d’opinions et une discussion ouverte et respectueuse. Tout commentaire sera pris en considération, à l’exception des cas énumérés ci-dessous :

  • Les propos incompréhensibles;
  • Les propos diffamatoires, haineux, racistes, homophobes, sexistes, xénophobes ou tout simplement disgracieux;
  • Les propos injurieux, vulgaires ou offensants;
  • Les propos qui contreviennent à une loi;
  • Les propos contenant des données personnelles ou confidentielles;
  • Les publicités, réelles ou dissimulées, ainsi que la propagande;
  • Les messages publiés à de multiples reprises ou complètement hors sujet.

Le partage d’idées et les échanges sont appréciés et encouragés. Élection Montréal n’accepte pas que la personne qui exprime ses idées soit attaquée. En conséquence, les commentaires ne respectant pas la présente Nétiquette seront modérés ou supprimés. Dans l’objectif de favoriser une discussion respectueuse, Élection Montréal supprimera sans avertissement les commentaires offensants. Toute discussion tenue sur les forums administrés par Élection Montréal doit profiter à l’ensemble des usagers. Les débats privés entre quelques participants ne seront pas admis.

L’usurpation de l’identité d’une personne est une infraction grave. Tout utilisateur qui utilise un faux compte ou de multiples identités se verra retirer ses privilèges d’accès et sera signalé aux autorités responsables du média social concerné.

Les échanges tenus sur les différentes plateformes utilisés par Élection Montréal doivent être identifiés. Ceux-ci peuvent toutefois être consultés de façon anonyme.

Un contenu publié sur le Web peut demeurer indexé par les moteurs de recherche, et ce, même si l’auteur a demandé que ce contenu soit retiré.

Plusieurs employés de la Ville de Montréal, de même que des élus du conseil municipal ou d’un conseil d’arrondissement possèdent un compte sur certains médias sociaux tels que Twitter ou Facebook. Certains s’identifient comme tels. Malgré leur affiliation professionnelle, les messages et prises de position des employés de la Ville ou des élus montréalais ne représentent pas la position officielle de la Ville de Montréal ou celle d’Élection Montréal et doivent être considérés comme des opinions strictement personnelles.

L’ajout d’hyperliens vers d’autres sites est autorisé si le contenu est pertinent et en lien avec les discussions ou les sujets abordés. La publicité et la pollution ne seront pas tolérées. En aucun cas, Élection Montréal n’appuie ces sites tiers et leur contenu.

La publication de photos ou de vidéos sur l’une des plateformes Web administrées par Élection Montréal doit avoir pour source des fichiers relevant du domaine public. L’auteur et des personnes qui y apparaissent doivent avoir donné leur autorisation.

Le non-respect des règles énoncées dans la présente Nétiquette par un utilisateur peut mener à la suppression sans préavis de ses interventions et à la suspension de ses privilèges d’accès aux comptes d’Élection Montréal.

Les médias sociaux évoluent rapidement. Élection Montréal se réserve le droit de modifier ces règles d’utilisation en tout temps et sans avertissement. N’hésitez pas à consulter cette page régulièrement.

Règles spécifiques à certains médias sociaux

Facebook: www.facebook.com/electionMTL

Pour vous informer à propos d’Élection Montréal sur Facebook, vous pouvez suivre la page Élection Montréal. Élection Montréal n’a pas de contrôle sur les publicités intuitives générées automatiquement par Facebook, en bordure de sa page, y compris celles à caractère politique. Élection Montréal n’est pas responsable et n’appuie aucunement ces publicités. Chaque personne publiant sur la page Facebook d’Élection Montréal est responsable de ses propos et actions. Élection Montréal n’appuie ni n’approuve nécessairement les dires des personnes qui publient sur sa page.

Twitter: Pour vous informer à propos d’Élection Montréal sur Twitter, vous pouvez suivre le compte @Election_Mtl ou les mots clic #cmmtl, #polmtl et #mun2013. De plus, d’autres mots clic peuvent être utilisés selon leur pertinence ainsi que selon les circonstances.

Un abonnement au compte @Election_Mtl n’entraîne pas un abonnement réciproque. La décision s’abonner à un compte Twitter ne signifie pas qu’Élection Montréal appuie ou endosse les propos ou les activités de son auteur. De même, la décision de republier un microbillet (retweet) d’un autre utilisateur ne signifie pas qu’Élection Montréal approuve cet utilisateur et n’indique, en aucun cas, de changement de sa position officielle. Les abonnés d’@Election_Mtl nous suivent de leur propre chef. Nous ne sommes pas responsables de leurs activités ni de leurs propos. Les microbillets (tweets) mentionnant @Election_Mtl ne sont pas appuyés par Élection Montréal.

Élection Montréal se réserve le droit de bloquer ou de retirer en tout temps un abonné si elle juge ses actions ou ses propos inappropriés. En raison de la limite de 140 caractères imposée par Twitter, nous raccourcissons nos hyperliens par l’entremise d’applications Web. Élection Montréal n’est aucunement associé à ces services en ligne.

Les internautes peuvent signaler un abus ou un non-respect de la Nétiquette en contactant le service à la clientèle du 514-872-VOTE (514-872-8683) ou en écrivant un courriel. Toute autre question ou tout autre commentaire concernant les médias sociaux peut aussi être envoyé à cette adresse.

Pour toute correspondance officielle, veuillez utiliser la section « Nous joindre » de notre site Internet. Nous invitons les médias à soumettre leurs demandes en suivant le processus habituel par téléphone au 514 872-9376. Il est aussi possible de transmettre la demande par courriel.