• Official site

Draft by-law concerning electoral districts

Object of draft by-law

Following the renewal of sections 4 to 13 of order in council 645-2005 of June 23, 2005 by section 149 of the Act to amend various municipal related legislative provisions concerning such matters as political financing (2016, chapter 17) and the amendments made to the order in council by sections 24 and 25 of the Act to amend various legislative provisions concerning Montréal (2008, chapter 19), the territory of Montréal, including its 19 boroughs, remains divided into 58 electoral districts for the purposes of the general election of November 5, 2017, and for any other general election or by-election.

The object of the draft by-law is to ensure that each electoral district of each borough is delimited in accordance with the criteria in the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (CQLR, chapter E-2.2). The criteria serve to maintain a balance as to the number of electors in each electoral district and as to their socio-economic homogeneity.

Alteration of the delimitation of certain electoral districts

To be in accordance with the law, the delimitation of certain electoral districts, established for the general election of November 5, 2017, had to be altered for the general election of November 7, 2021. That was the case for the electoral districts of Pointe-aux-Prairies, Pointe-aux-Trembles and Rivière-des-Prairies in Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles borough. The delimitation of other electoral districts remains the same as the one for the general election of November 5, 2017.

Delimitation of the 58 electoral districts for the general election of November 7, 2021

The delimitation, the designation and the number of electors in each electoral district, in each borough, for the general election, are as follows:

Right of objection

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (CQLR, chapter E -2.2), any elector may, within 15 days of the publication of this notice, file an objection, in writing, to the draft by-law.

To be valid, every objection must:

  • be filed by a person qualified to vote in Montréal:

    • be entered on the permanent list of electors drawn up by Élections Québec as a domiciled person, or

    • be entered on the list of electors of Montréal as the owner of an immovable or as the occupant of a business establishment

  • bear the last name and first name, and home address of the person filing the objection. A non-domiciled objector must state his qualification and address as elector, and provide an attestation of identity.

  • be dated and signed.

  • be filed in writing with the city clerk, no later than April 14, 2020, at 4:30 p.m.

Transmission of objections

An objection may be filed within the prescribed period, by mail, by fax or by e mail at the Service du greffe.

By mail at the Service du greffe
Me Yves Saindon
City Clerk and Returning Officer
275, rue Notre-Dame Est, ground floor
Montréal QC H2Y 1B5

514 872-5655 (fax)

election@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Public meeting

In accordance with section 18 of the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (CQLR, chapter E-2.2), if the number of valid objections received within the prescribed period is 500 or more, the city council will hold a public meeting to hear the persons present with respect to the draft by-law. In such cases, a notice containing the relevant information will have been published.

• Site officiel >
  • Projet de règlement sur les districts électoraux

Projet de règlement sur les districts électoraux

Objet du projet de règlement

À la suite de la reconduction par l’article 149 de la Loi modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière municipale concernant notamment le financement politique (L.Q. 2016, chapitre 17) des articles 4 à 13 du Décret 645-2005 du 23 juin 2005 et des modifications apportées à ce décret par les articles 24 et 25 de la Loi modifiant diverses dispositions législatives concernant Montréal (L.Q. 2008, chapitre 19), le territoire de la Ville de Montréal, comprenant ses 19 arrondissements, demeure divisé en 58 districts électoraux en prévision de l’élection générale du 7 novembre 2021, et de toute autre élection générale ou partielle.

L’objet du projet de règlement vise à assurer que chacun des districts électoraux de chaque arrondissement soit délimité selon les critères prévus par la Loi sur les élections et les référendums dans les municipalités (RLRQ, chapitre E 2.2). Ces critères servent à assurer un équilibre quant au nombre d’électeurs que ces districts électoraux regroupent et quant à leur homogénéité socio-économique.

Modification de la délimitation de certains districts électoraux

Afin de tenir compte des exigences de la loi, la délimitation de certains districts électoraux, établie pour l’élection générale du 5 novembre 2017, a dû être modifiée pour l’élection générale du 7 novembre 2021. C’est le cas pour les districts électoraux de Pointe-aux-Prairies, de Pointe-aux-Trembles et de Rivière-des-Prairies dans l’arrondissement de Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles. La délimitation des autres districts électoraux demeure la même que celle qui prévalait lors de l’élection générale du 5 novembre 2017.

Description de la délimitation des 58 districts électoraux en prévision de l'élection générale du 7 novembre 2021

La délimitation, la dénomination et le nombre d’électeurs pour chaque district électoral, de chacun des arrondissements, en prévision de la prochaine élection générale, s'établissent comme suit :

Droit d’opposition

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur les élections et les référendums dans les municipalités (RLRQ, chapitre E-2.2), tout électeur peut, dans les quinze (15) jours de la publication du présent avis, faire connaître, par écrit, son opposition au projet de règlement.

Pour être valide, toute opposition doit :

  • Provenir d’une personne possédant la qualité d’électeur de la Ville de Montréal, c’est-à-dire :
    • être inscrite sur la liste électorale permanente d’Élections Québec à titre de personne domiciliée sur le territoire de la Ville de Montréal; ou

    • être inscrite sur la liste électorale de la Ville de Montréal à titre de propriétaire d’un immeuble ou à titre d’occupant d’un établissement d’entreprise;

  • Faire lisiblement mention du nom et du prénom, ainsi que de l’adresse domiciliaire de la personne qui fait valoir son opposition. L’opposant non domicilié doit indiquer sa qualité d'électeur et l’adresse pour laquelle il possède cette qualité d’électeur, et fournir tout document qui en atteste;

  • Être datée et signée;

  • Être transmise, par écrit, au greffier de la Ville de Montréal, et être reçue par ce dernier, au plus tard le 14 avril, 16 h 30.

Transmission de l’opposition

Toute opposition peut être transmise, dans le délai fixé, par courrier, par télécopieur ou par courriel au Service du greffe, selon les coordonnées suivantes :

Par courrier au Service du greffe
Me Yves Saindon
Greffier et président d’élection
155, rue Notre-Dame Est, rez-de-chaussée
Montréal QC H2Y 1B5

Par télécopieur
514 872-5655

Par courriel
election@ville.montreal.qc.ca

Assemblée publique

Conformément à l’article 18 de la Loi sur les élections et les référendums dans les municipalités (RLRQ, chapitre E-2.2), si le nombre d’oppositions valides et reçues dans le délai fixé est égal ou supérieur à 500, le conseil de la Ville tiendra une assemblée publique aux fins d’entendre les personnes présentes sur le projet de règlement. Dans un tel cas, un avis contenant toutes les informations pertinentes aura été préalablement publié.